A company that hires a handful of people a year does not need a separate recruiting system: job posts, candidate records and offer letters inside the HR system mean the new hire's record already exists on day one. The limit that matters is how many job openings the plan you can afford allows. We read the vendors' pricing pages on October 28, 2026. Nothing here comes from a hands-on trial.
For whom: a company of 10 to 200 people hiring steadily but not continuously. Not for: a team running dozens of open roles with structured interviews and agency pipelines, which is what a dedicated ATS is for; see HRIS that integrate with Greenhouse.
Hiring features by plan
| BambooHR | Paycor (small business) | Rippling | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Applicant tracking in the plan | All plans: 5 job openings on Core, 25 on Pro, 50 on Elite | Recruit & Hire: 3 jobs on Essential, 5 on Core, unlimited on Complete | Recruiting listed among its HCM products; priced by quote |
| Also included | Candidate records, job postings, email and offer-letter templates on Core | Onboarding and E-Verify on Essential | Not itemized |
| Price | Core $10, Pro $17, Elite $25 per employee a month; for 25 or fewer employees $250, $425 and $650 a month flat | Essential $149 a month plus $6 or $7 per employee (the page shows both); Core and Complete from $199 a month plus a per-employee fee | Plans start at $8 per employee a month plus a base fee; products quoted |
Our pick
BambooHR. Applicant tracking is part of every plan, not an add-on, and its Core plan already includes the candidate record, job postings and offer-letter templates that a growing company uses most. For a 20-person company the $250 flat price covers HR records and hiring together with five job openings; Pro raises that to 25.
- Choose Paycor Complete if you also want payroll in the same system and hire continuously: Paycor documents unlimited jobs in its recruiting module on that plan; Rippling's limit is not stated in the source we cite. Paycor's small-business page is for businesses with under 50 employees, so above that, get a separate confirmed package.
- Choose Rippling if recruiting is one part of a platform you are already pricing for HR, IT and payroll; ask for the recruiting module in the same quote.
When to buy a separate ATS anyway
If you regularly have more open roles than your plan allows, run structured interview scorecards across several hiring teams, or work with agencies, a dedicated ATS earns its cost; connect it to the HRIS so the hire still lands in one record.
For HRIS pricing in more detail, see HRIS total cost.
Traceable evidence
Sources for this decision
- vendorBambooHR official product siteBambooHR · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small and midsize people teams prioritizing a dedicated HR operating center and employee experience.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorPaycor official product sitePaycor · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Growing US teams evaluating HR, payroll, talent, and workforce processes in one buying motion.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorRippling official product siteRippling · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Growing teams evaluating HR data alongside identity, devices, payroll, and finance workflows.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorBambooHR pricing page, plan tiersBambooHR · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: BambooHR's pricing page as read on October 28, 2026: Core $10, Pro $17 and Elite $25 per employee a month (its FAQ says $10.25 and $17.50 for Core and Pro), flat monthly rates of $250, $425 and $650 for 25 or fewer employees, applicant tracking with 5, 25 and 50 job openings across the three plans, and candidate records, job postings and email and offer-letter templates on Core; it does not mention background checks.Open source ↗
- vendorPaycor small business plans and pricingPaycor · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Paycor's small business pricing page as read on October 28, 2026: Basic $99 a month plus $5 per employee, Essential $149 plus $6 or $7 per employee (the page shows both), Core $199 plus $8 and Complete $199 plus $7 per employee; Recruit & Hire limited to 3 jobs on Essential and 5 on Core and unlimited on Complete; onboarding and E-Verify on Essential; promotional discounts shown. It does not state employee limits.Open source ↗
- vendorRippling pricing page, HCM productsRippling · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Rippling's pricing page as read on October 28, 2026: plans start at $8 per employee per month with an unpublished monthly base fee, and its HCM products include HRIS, recruiting, onboarding-related HR services, benefits administration, PEO and time and attendance, with totals depending on the products chosen and quoted; it does not price any single product.Open source ↗